Retained Hours

PhilMc

Hi Guys,

Can any retained firefighters give me an indication of how the required hours commitment works? I've met up with my potential Watch Commander and he said it would be best to sign for 80 hours a week.  I understand what this means in terms of availability (36 hours at the weekend, 44 to be made up during the week), but how does the reality match the ideal? Does this level of commitment put a real strain on family life?  As I'm a teacher I can only cover evenings and weekends during term time.  School holidays will enable me to help with day cover and so reduce the impact on nights.  Please don't take this as moaning as I've always wanted to be a firefighter and now circumstance has enable this dream to possibly come true!  Any advice will be gratefully received.

Cheers.

Sit with your WM to discuss your cover and the hours you give. I know of people that put down what the service needed and in reality it wasn't possible and a real stress on the person to try and maintain. Don't put down what you can't do, expect to give what you put down. If I were you I would put evening and weekend in the cover but explain to your WM that during school holidays you will day cover. 

Each service is slightly different. Here (Dorset) we have 90 and 120hr contracts. These are the minimum hours a week you are willing to provide cover. From this you offer to give x number of weekday daytime hours, x number of weekday night hours and weekend hours. 

For example I give 119 hours cover, so I am on a 90hr contract. Out of this I give something like 6hrs weekday day and then evening and weekend cover. But never put down I can do 100% of these. What I give adds up to 90hrs. 

In reality I give 121hrs on a 6 week average, this is due to shorter commute times etc. But I want the freedom of booking off when I want.