Conditional Offer West Yorkshire

TomWales

Hey guys, I never thought I would be saying this but I finally got a conditional offer with a start date of September 2018 or January 2019. The hype is real :D

My story in a nutshell is that I used to be quite an undecided person but finally realized that I wanted to join the fire service when I was in my first year of Uni studying Film Production of all things. However I was adamant to finish my degree and not long after finishing I took a year out to travel eight countries in Asia (so glad I did this). Anyway after I got back from my adventures I began applying, I have been dreaming of joining for five years and been applying for two years. I have applied for 15 services including repeats, attended 9 physical days and been invited to five interviews.

Please feel free to ask me anything. I feel as though I have learnt quite a bit in these two years and now I can finally relax while I wait to start my dream job.

• Like 4
  • Kudos 1

Well done!

I bet it was an amazing feeling receiving your job offer!

Out of all of your applications, which part would you say was the biggest hurdle? 

And do you have any tips for us who are still going going through applications with high hopes! 

Once again, great news! Persistence is key!

It was amazing, thank you :)

I think my biggest hurdle initially was those psychometric tests that come with Apollo system, I still believe they are an unfair way of testing people. There is no way to revise for them really, it is just luck. I found the best way to do these strangely enough was to rush them and not think hard about the answers. I don't know if this is good advice for everyone so please take it with a pinch of salt.