Smoke Alarm - What Type?

CMIOSH

Hello, my first posting.

I have been asked to recommend a smoke alarm for social housing - flats and houses. I am aware there are a number of different types on the market but the real issue is whether to install hard wired or whether 10 year lithium battery would suffice? I would appreciate if anyone can quote authoritative guidance which I can refer.

As an aside, there are smoke/heat/CO2 alarms and also inter-linked alarms. I think the latter may be a bit OTT where we are only installing a maximum of two alarms. The former is worth considering but need to assess the impact of repairs, testing and maintenance associated with these multi-purpose alarms.

Many thanks in advance for replying.

Ray     

I used to work as an electrician and had many social housing contracts, I also designed and installed fire alarm systems. I would recommend you refer to the Building Regs Approved Document B. A standard dwelling should have mains powered interlinked smoke detectors on each level of the property within the circulation areas (hallways and landings etc). Also if the kitchen area is not separated from the circulation areas by a door then an interlinked heat detector should be installed. There is more detailed info in the Approved Document (available online). A separate CO2 detector should be installed adjacent to the central heating boiler. 

Reference to flats then you also need to consider coverage of communal areas,  which would take you into the area of a BS539:1 fire alarm system wired in fire rated cable with a main indicating and control panel and detection and sounder circuits, this may also need to be monitored off site for activations. Emergency lighting would also be required. 

HMO is another area but I don't think you fall into this category. 

Let me know if you need any additional information. What part of the UK are you based in? 

Thanks SteelCity, very useful information.