ICT Training

Dawn Covacie

Hi Everyone

I have just started with Hampshire Fire and Rescue as an ICT trainer. It is a very new role with very much a blank canvas. I will be covering Gartan/ CFRMIS/ Microsoft 365 initially. 

I just wondered if there was anyone on here in a similar role or was involved in this development of the delivery that would like to reach out and share ideas, such as covering these on induction and ongoing development. 

Thanks

Dawn

I am an IT Engineer in Healthcare, have been involved in training over the years and still do bits.

We give a very brief overview on inductions but I must admit this is overload on everything else they are given on that start point.  Key points make sure they know their login details, how to get support, where to find any help i.e. online help KB's and what key systems they will need for what and then their local manager to explain a bit more with a view to further training sessions on them.

You need to cater for everyone and their learning styles, we have some online learning but some times individual docments with step by step instructions for tasks maybe simpler in certain environments.  i.e. how to request leave where to go, where to save files, how to accses shared files, what to do about remote working from home.

Not enough time is devoted and this can come back and bite orginisations at a later date with some systems.

Have you spoken to departments and found where the short falls are in the training that are more specific?  Each area are going to have different needs depending what they use. I'm happy to discuss other than the individual content will be differnet based on versions that you are using.

All I will say is for example in retained stations, they want things to be simple and work then and there as they are limited on their time on station when they have other things to do as apposed to learning how to use systems hence the quick flash knowledge cards as such.

Hi Matt