Nights for Officers

Steve

As you can probably tell by the time I posted this... 7am on a Bank Holiday Monday... I woke up early this morning and couldn't get back to sleep.... it happens from time to time, you'll find as you get older.

Anyway, that got me thinking about getting paged in the night when I was at home. I was a senior officer for half of my career and because I lived within the LFB area, was on call from home (apart from when I chose to stay at work if I had a late evening, especially in the last few years as Borough Commander where I had my own flat).

So this is how it worked... as ADO/SM, I'd generally have to go out if I got paged overnight, multiple calls after 2003 were an ordering, for a brief time when I started in 2002 they were optional. The only time I'd not go was a RTC call when the message back indicated a person was not trapped. 

From 2010, as a DO/GM, and very shortly after a NILO, it all changed a bit. The NILO role was a bit of a pain, when I was duty NILO*, an exclusive duty, when that was my sole role. The mad hours would usually be between 11pm and 3am.... calls that LFB attended where the NILO was informed. These were persons threatening to do various things; jump/set themselves alight/set something alight etc... I'd frequently (and miserably) get paged 4-6 times between those hours. (17 was my personal record as a duty NILO in one shift). Often I'd lay in bed (quietly sobbing) with an earpiece in drifting in an out of sleep between messages.

*When I wasn't duty NILO, I would be available for all calls including when the duty NILO needed a NILO to attend a call, the duty very rarely sent themselves out as they were to maintain an overview.