Call my cynical, but if this research finds a lack of value for money in the UKFRS, then what?

This looks like an exercise to prepare a white paper or similar into significant changes to the way the fire service is managed. 

The NHS is slowly being privatised so why not the fire service? This might be controversial, but if there was substantial evidence- such as from this NFCC report - it might be easier to push through

I am not an expert on statistics or data but there does seem to be a fair bit of guesstimating going on here. Establishing what would happen if no fire service attendance was made is an example. There are so many factors thar would influence fire development and only a few of them are recorded in fire reports.

As a taxpayer I want value for money in all government spending- including the fire service. But using data based on educated guesswork to shape the future of the UKFRS worries me

I would prefer a live study over a 12 to 36 month timescale (?) where real data can be measured on site rather than guessing what may have happened

If you are not concerned,  indeed worried about this research, maybe you should be

Does anyone know if the FBU are represented in the panel of experts or in any other role in the project?

So ‘experts’ have concluded that a house fire will average out at 43% of damage to it if we didn’t attend any of them? The trouble with this job is people like NFCC and teams within services spend money, time and effort into coming up with entirely unprovable nonsense like this as if any of it really matters 🤷🏻‍♂️

All of that claptrap is meaningless because there are so many variables.

@Percy

I would like to understand that 43% better too as I have ATTENDED fires where, despite our best efforts, 100% of the building has been damaged.

Maybe we should have parked at the end of the street to have saved 57% of the building? 😉

Before someone mentions 'averages , I can't imagine more than a handful of property fires not burning out