Conditional Offer - Warwickshire 3

Copey25

I am shell shocked. 

My name is Rich, I've been an RDS firefighter for 8 years. During that time I have applied for literally every single recruitment process where I was eligible. This took me as far as Highlands & Islands FRS (before it was amalgamated into the SFRS) and as far down as Cornwall. I enrolled myself on adult learning courses to get my GCSE equivalents to A*-C. I bought loads of revision booklets for each part of the selection process, revised my arse off and vowed to improve to the point where failure was not an option.

This my first post on this forum but I spent a lot of time on another forum, asking questions and getting my pqas on point. 

I've counted 8 unsuccessful attempts.

I improved on every process but due to fierce competition and small amounts of vacancies, I was never successful. 

I started to lose interest, got sick of rejection and accepted that I may never become a wholetime firefighter.

It was at that point that my local brigade recruited. I saw this as a last ditch attempt to get in and if I was unsuccessful I was going to knock it on the head and accept life as is.

I applied, gave it my all at every stage and revised to the point where I thought my wife would leave me for neglecting her. My head was in the books preparing for the interview for 4-7 hours a day up until the interview date.

I was so nervous I thought I'd bombed in the interview. An unusual interview style including a presentation took me by surprise but my revision paid off.

2 days ago I received my offer for employment conditional on satisfactory references.

I am over the moon, I can't believe I've finally made it. 

Keep trying, you'll get there eventually. 

Well done mate, sounds like you have put a lot of effort in to getting where you are. I still remember that phone call. All the best.

5 hours ago, Luminoki said:

Well done mate, what service is this for?