The Future of Fire Safety?

Messyshaw

As a Fire Safety professional, I cannot tell you how relieved I am that I haven't been involved in residential flats for 7 years. There will be many of my peers having sleepless nights at present as their work comes under minute scrutiny.

I have reviewed my reports from a contract I had with a major housing provider 8 years ago-including blocks of 22+ floors. I am happy that they ok and in any case would have been reviewed/repeated by now

But checking cladding was not part of the scope of any FRA reports I have produced as the process just doesnt cover that requirement.

Current fire safety legislation  does not extend to within single private dwellings, so I would not have seen items such as the questionable gas installations in the Camden units.

The public admiration of fire service ops has now changed to the  intense scrutiny of the entire fire safety industry

Huge changes are on their way. Standards, legislation and competences must be on the shopping list.

What do you see happening in the fire safety world in the future?

I saw a comment from the Tory government on sky news today, stating that the government "employ FRS authorities to ensure fire safety in tower blocks", so yeah the tide is, as predicted, changing, the blame shifting has started, and its gonna be very messy. 

I always thought we had very high standards of building regulation and fire safety in public buildings. i didn't think we would see fire kill this many people in the UK, this is what i expected to see happen in far off 3rd world countries. 

• Kudos 1