IFE Level 3 or 4 as a FF

Firefox1608

I’ve been in the job nearly four years now and have started looking into doing my IFEs to expand my knowledge. As a firefighter, I gather that the route taken by most at my stage is the Level 3 certificate (Fire science, operations, fire safety and management) with the four 1 hours exams for each unit.

Having spoken to my WM, he recommended just bypassing all of the level 3 qualifications completely and studying for the level 4 certificates (he said this was recommended to him in the past, but chose not to and now regrets it) - the reasoning being that if you’re putting in all the hours studying, you might as well just do a bit more and aim to get the higher qualification. 

Has anyone on here either gone for Level 4 as a firefighter or knows someone who has? Just looking for a sounding board really! 

When I did them, they were categorised as the Intermediate, Graduate and Members papers. I started at the bottom and worked my way up. They are designed to be progressive and as much as you can study for the Level 4s as they now call them, you will bypass those below as well as the knowledge and learning that goes with them. 

By undertaking them from the start, you will progressively build up an underpinning knowledge which will then make the the harder papers easier. I guess its down to personal choice. 

In GMFRS you had to have your Intermediates to get a CM job, the Grads to get a WM job and then the Members to get a SM job. This unfortunately, like everything else, has been watered down over the years and now I ain't sure what you need. 

The old Fire Service Exams did what they were supposed to.