Asbestos Exposure whilst fitting Smoke Alarms

JerseyFire

If I was an electrician fitting a light fitting in a pre-2000 home in theory I should insist on a quick asbestos survey to examine the ceiling material. As a bare minimum the use of shaving foam, a capture cup, hand drill (not electric) dust mask and white suit should be considered.

I know from years of experience (before I became aware of this risk) that many thousands of homes will have been visited since brigades started fitting smoke alarms where fixings were made using drills (in accordance with smoke alarm company fitting instructions) and many firefighters will have unknowingly become exposed to asbestos dust.

Do any of you remember dusting off your shoulders or offering to borrow the householders vacuum to clear up the dusty mess? I’m pretty sure most of us will.

By vacuuming up with a domestic vacuumed cleaner will make things a lot worse as any tiny asbestos fibres initially cleared up will be spread throughout a home the next time the home is cleaned.

Asbestos leglislation has been in place for many years and as such brigades should be following best practice. There are clear procedures in place for dealing with incidents where asbestos is suspected but very little or no comprehensive guidance for fitting smoke alarms.

As this is a routine activity a ‘safe system of work’ should be put in place with a comprehensive accompanying generic risk assessment.

Moving forward and improving practice is the easy bit but addressing past practice where the law has not been adhered to probably goes into the too difficult to sort draw. 

Of course asbestos isn’t in every ceiling but it is pretty widespread and I think it is a matter of time before past malpractice bites a brigade.