On Call Questions

JamesAVFC82

Hi all,

Applied for an On call firefighter week or so back, had an unexpected interview this evening. Left with more questions which I hope you can help with. I currently work full time as a window cleaner, so used to working at heights.

My 2 main questions are how do you maintain your 84 hours on top of a full time job. Are you constantly on edge, as nobody knows when a emergency will happen. Do you sleep lightly of an night when you are on call?

My other question is regarding pay. Having 2 wages will trigger the emergency tax. Is it feasible for me to leave my full time job and dedicate my time to my family and being on call? Is it possible to say I can offer my services at any given time during the day?

Thanks for reading and any replys I look forward to reading before I send out my revised hours of availability

Hi @Jamesavfc82, I’m also an on call firefighter whilst on rest days so I’m only contracted 80 hours (that’s only on my 4 days). That means that the minute I book off call I have broken my contracted hours, however it isn’t policed and there is scope to sometimes do less than contracted, however if you are contracted 84 hours and only average 40 hours, I expect words will be had. 

Whilst on call I sometimes help a mate out with window cleaning however I stay on call as it’s in the local area. This is personal choice and if you are window cleaning out of the catchment area then it won’t be allowed anyway. 84 hours is a big commitment, as is any amount of hours due to the poor hourly rate for being on call, however if you’re at a busy station, a couple of shouts makes staying on call worth it. Obviously being busy can also bring issues, family etc..

84 hours a week on call also leaves you 84 hours a week off call, so still lots of time off.