Pressure Fed Supply into Tank Fill?

Jason

Hi all, stumbled across this site and looked good so I joined - thanks for having me! I’m an Operational Trainer with Essex.

I’m interested in where other Services connect their pressure fed supply to their appliance? In Essex we do not use the automatic tank full for operational fire fighting and will only ever go direct into the pump via the collecting head but I’ve heard others (LFB?) always go into the automatic tank fill? 

Just curious as to what others do

Thanks

J

Generally always into the pump eye so that the pressure coming in from the supply isn’t lost and can be utilised. I also like having a full tank in reserve if possible in case the supply goes t*ts up. We were told when the newer pumps came in with the auto filler and auto cooling mechanism that we wouldn’t need to go in through the pump eye and could go straight through the tank filler. The pumps arrived with the collecting heads removed and stowed in a locker. It didn’t take long for them to end up back where they belong.

Through the eye is recommended in Kent but on our wholetime machines the collecting head prevents the pump lockers doors from closing if it is left on the eye, so it stays on the tank fill most of the time. If time permits, setting in for a water relay for example, we'll take it off and put it on the eye, but if time is tight then chances are it will go in through the tank fill first to avoid the faff.

On call appliances however have two valves just the below the eye so it can be twinned straight into it without having to move the collecting head.

In my brief spell in Surrey it was almost always through the tank fill as they all had an auto-fill device attached.

As far as I was aware LFB lack doors on their pump lockers so the collecting head is almost always on the eye and as such supply goes straight to there. That may have changed with the newer Ategos though.