The Role of a Fire Investigator

Noddy

A first class read Jim, I'd advise all newer members to read and digest this... not only is it a valuable educational piece overall, it will also give food for thought when they are working at a fire scene to recognise that the investigator has a job to do afterwards....

"Was that before or after you noticed you were standing in a lake of gasoline? WAS THAT BEFORE RO AFTER YOU NOTICED YOU WERE STANDING IN A LAKE OF GASOLINE YOU IDIOT!!!"

backdraft_12.jpg

• Thanks 1

@Noddy a bit off topic, but may I ask a question anyway.

in training, we got told that if we come across a casualty that is deceased, that we should let entry control know the location but we should leave them in situ for FI.

I’m a bit unsure on this one. I’m not a doctor, and sometimes in low visibility, I couldn’t possibly make that decision. My gut tells me that if I found someone, I’d get them out for help. I’m yet to actually find anyone, but I was wondering what your thoughts were? What would be the repurcussions for me if a coroner decided that that person died after the fire, and if I had gotten them out they may have survived?

Good question that attracts a lot of debate when I ask it during my input to crews. 

Bottom line is it’s down to you to decide.  I will never criticise anybody for bringing out a corpse from a job.  I wasn’t there in your shoes at the time so have no idea of what you saw, felt etc.. if in any doubt then bring them out.  And I've been there and done it so understand.  I’d rather be examining a dead body at a job that’s now under a salvage sheet on the front lawn, than finding out that some poor soul left in a job wasn’t actually dead! (Which hasn’t happened to me after 55 fatal fires by the way! ). 

I would say however that some people are so very clearly dead that’s it’s not a difficult decision to make in leaving them in situ sometimes.  

@Noddy  that’s helped me a lot, thank you:)