My Story

RicStephens

Hi just thought I would post on here. Hopefully it will be able to help others especially as this forum has been an absolute god send to me so far. 

I have been working as a tree surgeon for the last 3 years full time. I do love my job but I couldn't help feeling that something was missing. I have always had an urge to help others and a career in the fire service has always been a dream of mine since I was a little nipper. It always just seemed out of reach to me however, and I will be honest I didn't have the self belief growing up to think it possible to realize. 

Earlier this year in march I decided that it was the time to throw myself into it and succeed in my dream. The first thing I did was sign up to this forum, check it every day and apply for every possible fire service. I attended the Humberside taster day and went through every service that opened up application process. On my first attempt with wales I failed on the behavioural part but I picked myself up and studied every evening. I then applied for Cheshire, Humberside and Tyne and Weir respectively and made it through to practical selection for all 3. I passed the Cheshire practical selection but Humberside was the one I really wanted as it was somewhat local. Unfortunately at Humberside practical selection I failed on the enclosed space test as I spun myself around 180! It was a blow to me but it only made me more determined.

2 weeks after Humberside failure my local service Lincolnshire announced they were recruiting. I just knew it was meant to be! I was going to get in. I studied and trained hard and made it through every stage. 

Yesterday I was offered a whole time position with 11 other candidates and we start in January. I am absolutely over the moon.